About Us

Hello and Welcome to the South Bay Cities Council of Governments Website:

The SBCCOG is a joint powers authority of 16 cities and the County of Los Angeles that share the goal of maximizing the quality of life and productivity of the South Bay region. Our members are Carson, El Segundo, Gardena, Hawthorne, Hermosa Beach, Inglewood, Lawndale, Lomita, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Redondo Beach, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, Torrance, and the Harbor City/San Pedro/Wilmington communities of the City of Los Angeles, along with the unincorporated areas of the County of Los Angeles District 2 and 4.

While as cities we value what makes us unique and independent, often there are times when our combined endeavors are proven more productive. The vision of what we can do for all our communities is what motivates our members and can best be described four ways: Partnership, Planning, Persuasion, and Performance.

2020 has been a challenging year for our South Bay cities. We have been faced with the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, with the resultant loss of many lives, closing of businesses, unemployment of residents, and tremendous loss of revenue for our cities. We have also been challenged by the nationwide civil unrest calling for police reform, which has also reached the South Bay, resulting from the death of George Floyd in Minneapolis, MN. The value of having the SBCCOG as a means for our cities to network and share best practices has never been more evident.

Thank you for visiting the South Bay Cities Council of Governments Web site. Please visit again as we are continually adding and updating information regarding our collective work.

View a PDF version of South Bay Cities Council of Governments' Organizational Chart.



Olivia Valentine, SBCCOG Chair
Councilmember, City of Hawthorne