## Resolution No. 2013-1

## A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE SOUTH BAY CITIES COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS DEFINING THE TERRITORIAL BOUNDARIES OF THE SOUTH BAY CITIES COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS

WHEREAS, the SBCCOG is a joint powers authority of 16 cities and the County of Los Angeles that share the goal of maximizing the quality of life and productivity of the South Bay area; and

WHEREAS, the South Bay Cities Council of Governments has operated since its inception with an informally-defined service area boundary including the corporate boundaries of the Cities of Carson, El Segundo, Gardena, Hawthorne, Hermosa Beach, Inglewood, Lawndale, Lomita, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Redondo Beach, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, Torrance, and the Harbor City/San Pedro communities of the City of Los Angeles 15<sup>th</sup> District, along with unincorporated South Bay areas of County of Los Angeles District 2 and 4; and

WHEREAS, the South Bay Cities Council of Governments Board of Directors desires to formally adopt service area boundaries for the South Bay Cities Council of Governments and its South Bay Environmental Services Center; and

WHEREAS, the limits of the Los Angeles County and City of Los Angeles area within the South Bay Cities Council of Governments service area have been agreed to by the District 2 and 4 Los Angeles County Supervisors and Los Angeles City Council Member in office at the time of the adoption of this resolution; and

**WHEREAS**, for clarity, the service areas of the South Bay Cities Council of Governments and its South Bay Environmental Services Center should be the same;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the territorial boundaries of the South Bay Cities Council of Governments and South Bay Environmental Services Center service areas are as illustrated by the map attached to this resolution as Exhibit 1 and described as follows:

The service area boundaries incorporate the corporate boundaries of the cities of Carson, El Segundo, Gardena, Hawthorne, Hermosa Beach, Inglewood, Lawndale, Lomita, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Redondo Beach, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, Torrance, the county unincorporated areas contained in the Athens/Westmount, Del Aire, La Rambla, Lennox, West Alondra Park, West Carson, and Westfield communities of Los Angeles County Districts 2 and 4 and the Harbor City/San Pedro and Wilmington communities of the City of Los Angeles in District 15 as far north as the northern boundary of the I-105 freeway.

PASSED, APPROVED, and ADOPTED this 28th of March, 2013.

Ralph L. Franklin, SBCCOG Chair

ATTEST:

Marcy Hiratzka, Board Secretary